Supervisors

FOR APPLICANTS:

All GW4-CAT senior supervisors will work within the broad areas of GW4 excellence:

  • Cancer, Infection, Immunity and Repair
  • Cardiovascular Health
  • Molecular Cell Biology
  • Neuroscience and Mental Health
  • Population Health, Epidemiology and ‘omics

GW4-CAT fellows will usually choose a senior supervisor from the available supervisor pool below, depending on your specific project, there may be another academic within our wider pool of potential supervisors at GW4-CAT institutions who would be more appropriate as a lead supervisor. Please see our ‘Choosing your supervisory team’ page for more information on the process of putting this team together.

FOR SUPERVISORS:

If you are an academic not on the list below who would like to be considered for a senior supervisor role, please see our supervisor expression of interest information.

We have provided a guidance document for supervisors which can be found here GW4-CAT guidance for Supervisors.

Research interests of potential supervisors:

Bristol Supervisors
Cardiff Supervisors
Exeter Supervisors

Bristol Senior Supervisors

Name Department Email
Prof Richard Apps Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Biomedical Science r.apps@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Gianni Angelini Bristol Heart Institute, Bristol Royal Infirmary, G.D.angelini@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Imre Berger School of Biochemistry, BioMedical Sciences imre.berger@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Ian Collinson School of Biochemistry, BioMedical Sciences ian.collinson@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Richard Coward School of Clinical Sciences, Health Sciences Richard.Coward@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Peter Cullen School of Biochemistry, Biomedical Sciences pete.cullen@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Dick Division of Ophthalmology A.Dick@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Mark Dillingham School of Biochemistry, BioMedical Sciences mark.dillingham@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Jeremy Henley Biochemistry, BioMedical Sciences j.m.henley@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Matthew Jones Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Biomedical Sciences matt.jones@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Deborah Lawlor MRC Integrative Epidemiology Unit, School of Social and Community Medicine d.a.lawlor@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Stafford Lightman School of Clinical Sciences, Health Sciences Stafford.Lightman@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Paul Martin Schools of Physiology & Pharmacology, and Biochemistry, BioMedical paul.martin@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Richard Martin School of Social and Community Medicine, Health Sciences richard.martin@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Jack Mellor Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, BioMedical Sciences jack.mellor@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Mumford School of Cellular and Molecular Medicine
Bristol Medical School
a.mumford@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Marcus Munafo School of Experimental Psychology, Science marcus.munafo@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Alastair Poole Physiology, Pharmacology and Neuroscience, Biomedical Sciences a.poole@bris.ac.uk
Prof Caroline Relton MRC Integrative Epidemiology Unit, School of Social and Community Medicine caroline.relton@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Anne Ridley School of Cellular and Molecular Medicine anne.ridley@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Stefan Roberts Cellular and Molecular Medicine, BioMedical Sciences stefan.roberts@bristol.ac.uk
Prof George Davey Smith School of Social and Community Medicine, Health Sciences kz.davey-smith@bristol.ac.uk
Prof Nicholas Timpson MRC Integrative Epidemiology Unit, School of Social and Community Medicine, Health Sciences n.j.timpson@bris.ac.uk
Prof Linda Wooldridge Veterinary Sciences, Health Sciences Linda.Wooldridge@bristol.ac.uk

Cardiff Senior Supervisors

Name Department Email
Prof John Aggleton Psychology aggleton@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Trevor Dale School of Biosciences daletc@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Colin Dayan School of Medicine dayancm@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Donald Fraser School of Medicine fraserdj@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Peter Ghazal School of Medicine ghazalp@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Awen Gallimore Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine gallimoream@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Godkin Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine godkinaj@cf.ac.uk
Prof William Gray Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute graywp@cf.ac.uk
Prof Jeremy Hall Neuroscience and Mental Health Research Institute and Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, School of Medicine HallJ10@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Ian Humphreys Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine humphreysir@cf.ac.uk
Prof Derek Jones CUBRIC, School of Psychology jonesd27@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Simon Jones Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine jonessa@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Ming Li Neuroscience & Mental Health Research Institute lim26@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Valerie O’Donnell Systems Immunity Research Institute and Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine o-donnellvb@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Michael O’Donovan Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, School of Medicine odonovanmc@cf.ac.uk
Prof Michael Owen Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, School of Medicine owenmj@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Neil Robertson Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, School of Medicine RobertsonNP@cf.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Sewell Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine SewellAK@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Philip Taylor Division of Infection and Immunity, School of Medicine TaylorPR@cf.ac.uk
Prof Seralynne Vann School of Psychology vannsd@cardiff.ac.uk
Prof Julie Williams Division of Psychological Medicine and Clinical Neurosciences, School of Medicine williamsj@cardiff.ac.uk

Exeter Senior Supervisors

Name Department Email
Prof Linda Clare Centre for Research in Ageing and Cognitive Health l.clare@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Crosby Medical School A.H.Crosby@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Sian Ellard Molecular Genetics Dept sian.ellard@nhs.net
Dr Sarah Flanagan Molecular Genetics s.flanagan@exeter.ac.uk
Dr Rachel Freathy Institute of Biomedical and Clinical Sciences r.freathy@ex.ac.uk
Prof Willie Hamilton DISCOVERY W.Hamilton@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Andrew Hattersley Institute of Biomedical and Clinical Science a.t.hattersley@exeter.ac.uk
Prof Jonathan Mill Medical School j.mill@exeter.ac.uk

Comments are closed.